British Columbia.—Court of Appeal (R.S.B.C. 1948, c. 74).—The Court of Appeal consists of a chief justice, who is called the Chief Justice of British Columbia, and four other judges who are called Justices of Appeal. All are appointed by the Governor General in Council. The Court exercises general appellate jurisdiction.

Supreme Court (R.S.B.C. 1948, c. 73).—This Court consists of a chief justice, who is called the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, and seven other judges who are called Judges of the Supreme Court. All are appointed by the Governor General in Council. The Court has unlimited original jurisdiction in civil and criminal matters throughout the Province.

County Courts (R.S.B.C. 1948, c. 75).—There are eight counties in the Province with a county court for each county and one or more judges for each county court. All judges are appointed by the Governor General in Council. Each county court has jurisdiction up to 1,000 generally and in some cases up to 2,500 and has jurisdiction in criminal and probate matters. The courts have no jurisdiction in certain types of personal actions such as libel, slander or breach of promise of marriage.

Small Debts Courts (R.S.B.C. 1948, c. 79).—The Small Debts Court Act provides that the Lieutenant-Governor in Council may appoint any stipendiary magistrate, police magistrate or any two justices of the peace to exercise small-debt jurisdiction within the territorial limits for which he or they have been appointed. There are 97 small debts court magistrates. Jurisdiction is limited to \$100 and an appeal lies to the nearest county court judge or Supreme Court judge.

Magistrates and Justices of the Peace (R.S.B.C. 1948, c. 195).—Magistrates and justices of the peace are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. They have limited civil and criminal jurisdiction.

Juvenile Courts (R.S.B.C. 1948, c. 77).—Judges of the Juvenile Court are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. They have jurisdiction for the purposes of the federal Juvenile Delinquents Act, and also under the following provincial statutes: Protection of Children Act, the Industrial School for Girls Act and the Industrial School for Boys Act.

Section 2.—Provincial and Territorial Governments*

In each of the provinces, the Queen is represented by a Lieutenant-Governor appointed by the Governor General in Council. The Lieutenant-Governor acts on the advice and with the assistance of his Ministry or Executive Council, which is responsible to the Legislature and resigns office when it ceases to enjoy the confidence of that body.

The Legislature of each province is unicameral, consisting of the Lieutenant-Governor and a Legislative Assembly, except for the Province of Quebec where there is a Legislative Council as well as a Legislative Assembly.

The Legislative Assembly is elected by the people for a statutory term of five years but may be dissolved within that period by the Lieutenant-Governor on the advice of the Premier of the province.

^{*} The information on the governments of the different provinces given in Subsections 1 to 10 of this Section is brought up to Mar. 31, 1953. Provincial elections held between that date and the date of going to press are covered in Appendix II of this volume.